There is no absolute truth but billions of personal truths


It is partly with this in mind that I have wanted to approach this story. In my endeavor to make sense of the holy wars against Athena, I have come to wonder about human wars first. Why is it sometimes so difficult to understand each other? How can we become friends when everything divides us? How can we turn hate into respect, into listening to others, into curiosity? If we are opposed in every way, then there is all the more to learn. How do you see life? What are your dreams, your fears? Open up your heart so that I am not afraid to open mine. Let's discover the virtues of communication. Let's talk. Let's put our intelligence in common so that we can live in a world where we share more than we envy, where we open our eyes instead of hiding our vulnerability behind invincible walls.

Our spirit will never embrace all the beauties of our world, our thoughts will never carry us far enough to make us reach that peaceful nirvana, the awareness that, like a cloud, we will not die. We become rain, river, lake, ocean and steam, and then cloud again. Since we are so transient, why not live according to our heart rather than our fear? I want to believe in a better world in which art is the poet, and my faith in humankind leads me to believe in the impossible. Saint Seiya, an inspiration which has intimately accompanied my adolescence, gives me the will to believe in my ideals, to touch hearts in order to caress them with a peaceful blast that they will be able to share in turn.

If Saint Seiya constitutes the basic universe of this story, I wanted to follow the evolution of new characters in order to see them grow. I also wished to make Saint Seiya accessible to outsiders so that someone unfamiliar to this world could invest it with as much pleasure.

After reading again the first book I realized that I had fragmented myself in each character, placing in each of them a part of my doubts, of my anxieties, my strength and my hopes. I have the feeling of having divided myself in an attempt to reconcile myself, to find some kind of personal harmony in spite of the absurdity of war. Here am I now, trapped between dream and reality, between corporal constraints and freedom of mind. Will I manage to reunify myself, to live in the present at last, in my dreamality?

Meanwhile, my dearest wish is that this work touches you. Because if my writing is solitary, my inspiration stems from all of you.

In the course of encounters and affinities, several people have joined the Gaia Trilogy. First, Maximilien Chavot for the illustrations, gathered in a gallery on this website. Then Sonia-Ingrid Marshall for the English translation of the first book. And finally Antoine Lamaze for the realization of this website.

I want to thank Max, whose drawings have already dazzled many people. We started working together in 2005, when I saw his work on Deviantart, and I must say that this collaboration has been very fruitful since then. Max's comments have often helped me improve certain points. And as far as his drawings are concerned... I still find myself lost in them so often. What an opportunity and a joy for an author to see his characters take shape, to discover incredibly obvious expressions which were nonetheless unimaginable until then. After giving him only a brief and mainly psychological description, I left Max totally free of his style and visual ideas, which were much more elaborate than mine. Surprised by the constant beauty of his illustrations, I have exhausted my gaze upon them as they were a deep source of inspiration. I can imagine them moving, living, interacting. The fights in my imagination have become all the more vivid, sensations take a human shape and are all the more troubling for me. For all those emotions, thanks again, Max.

I would also like to thank Sonia for her efforts and her strenuous work on a difficult literary translation. We were both working for a translation agency in New-Zealand and our conversations led us on the topic of the Gaia Trilogy. Sonia didn't know Saint Seiya and I was thus all the happier that she enjoyed the story as much as she did. Sonia then started to translate the Trilogy and, having followed her efforts and relentlessness, I can say that it has been a long and exacting work. Being able to convey subtleties and puns is undoubtedly a form of art, and Sonia does honor it. For the pleasure of our encounters and for having made the Trilogy accessible to the English-speaking world, thank you Sonia.

I also want to thank Antoine whose work has been tremendously precise and time-consuming. Three years spent together at the ENITA in Bordeaux have revealed our common interest in certain creative aspects. As I was finishing the Trilogy and an amateur website, Antoine and I met again after four years on New Year's Eve 2008. When I showed him the Gaia Trilogy and the Fyndel website, Antoine spontaneously offered to realize the website. Since then this window on the web has been growing in my mind as I now imagine photos and videos alongside the writing. Thanks to Antoine, the Fyndel has become my artistic interface, the window of my dreams, a drop in an electronic ocean. For this selfless work, for the opportunity to share so easily until the other end of the world, thank you Antoine.

Last but not least, my heart goes to those who have followed the writing and whose desire to read more has been a wonderful incentive for me. Emilie, Pascal, Benoit, thank you for the strength that your hope has given me.


Retour en haut de page

Julien Jay
2004 - 2008 ~ New-Zealand - France
English translation (Introduction) :
Géraldine Jay

Il n'existe aucune vérité absolue mais des milliards de vérités personnelles


C'est en partie dans cette optique que j'ai voulu approcher cette histoire. En tentant de donner un sens aux Guerres saintes contre Athéna, j'en suis venu à m'interroger sur les guerres humaines avant tout. Pourquoi est-il si difficile de se comprendre parfois ? Comment devenir amis, nous que tout sépare ? Comment changer notre haine en respect, en écoute de l'autre, en curiosité ? Si tout nous oppose, alors il y a d'autant plus à apprendre. Comment vois-tu la vie ? Quels sont tes rêves, tes peurs ? Ouvre-moi ton cœur pour que je n'aie plus peur d'ouvrir le mien, découvrons ensemble les vertus de la communication. Parlons ; mettons notre intelligence en commun afin de vivre dans un monde où nous partageons plus que nous envions ; où nous ouvrons les yeux plutôt que de cacher notre vulnérabilité derrière des murailles invincibles.

Jamais notre esprit n'épousera toutes les beautés de ce monde, jamais nos réflexions ne nous porterons assez loin pour nous faire atteindre ce nirvana de paix, cette conscience que comme un nuage, nous ne mourrons pas ; nous devenons pluie, rivière, lac, océan, puis vapeur, et nuage de nouveau. Puisque nous sommes si éphémères, pourquoi ne pas vivre en suivant son cœur plutôt que sa peur ? Je veux croire en un monde meilleur dont l'art est le poète, et ma foi en les hommes me pousse à croire en l'impossible. Saint Seiya, inspiration qui a intimement accompagné mon adolescence, me donne cette volonté de croire en mes idéaux, espérer toucher les cœurs pour les caresser d'un souffle pacifique qu'ils pourront partager à leur tour.

Si Saint Seiya est l'univers de base de ce récit, j'ai tenu à relater l'évolution de nouveaux personnages pour avoir la liberté de les voir mûrir. Mon souhait était aussi de rendre Saint Seiya accessible aux profanes afin qu'une personne non familiarisée avec ce monde puisse s'y investir avec autant de plaisir.

En relisant le premier livre, j'ai réalisé m'être fragmenté en chaque personnage, plaçant dans l'un et l'autre une partie de mes doutes, de mes anxiétés, de ma force, de mes espoirs. J'ai l'impression de m'être divisé pour mieux tenter de me réconcilier, trouver cette harmonie personnelle derrière l'absurdité de la guerre. Me voilà donc piégé entre rêve et réalité, entre contraintes corporelles et liberté d'esprit. Arriverai-je à me réunifier, vivre enfin au présent dans ma rêvalité ?

En attendant, mon souhait le plus cher est que cette œuvre vous touche. Car si j'écris en solitaire, c'est vous tous qui m'inspirez.

Au fil des rencontres et des affinités, plusieurs personnes ont rejoint la Trilogie Gaïa. D'abord Maximilien Chavot pour les illustrations réunies en une galerie sur ce site. Puis Sonia-Ingrid Marshall pour la traduction anglaise du premier livre. Enfin Antoine Lamaze pour la réalisation de ce site Internet.

Je tiens donc à remercier Max dont les dessins en ont déjà ébloui plus d'un. Nous avons commencé à travailler ensemble en 2005, lorsque j'ai vu ses œuvres sur Deviantart, et je dois dire que cette collaboration est depuis des plus fructueuses. Les commentaires de Max m'ont souvent fait réfléchir à certains points à améliorer. Quant à ses dessins… je m'y perds encore si souvent. Quelle chance et quel bonheur pour un scénariste de voir ses personnages prendre corps, de leur découvrir des expressions si évidentes mais jusqu'alors inimaginables. Après une description sommaire et principalement psychologique, je laissais à Max la liberté de son style, de ses idées visuelles bien plus fournies que les miennes. Surpris par la régulière beauté des illustrations, j'y ai tant épuisé mon regard, et puisé d'inspiration… je les imagine bouger, vivre, interagir. Les combats de mon imagination n'en brillent que mieux, les sensations prennent visage humain et me troublent d'autant plus. Pour toutes ces émotions, encore merci, Max.

Un grand merci aussi à Sonia, pour les efforts et le travail acharné et délicat d'une traduction littéraire. Nous travaillions tous les deux pour une agence de traduction en Nouvelle-Zélande, et nos conversations nous menèrent vers la Trilogie Gaia. Sonia ne connaissait pas Saint Seiya, ainsi je fus d'autant plus heureux qu'elle apprécie l'histoire à ce point. Sonia s'attacha alors à traduire la Trilogie, et pour avoir suivi ses efforts et sa rigueur, je peux dire que ce fut un travail de longue haleine. Parvenir à rendre les subtilités, les jeux de mots… c'est un art, assurément, et Sonia lui fait honneur. Pour le plaisir de nos rencontres et pour l'ouverture de la Trilogie au monde anglophone, merci Sonia.

Merci aussi à Antoine dont le travail requiert précision et beaucoup de temps. Trois ans passés ensemble à l'ENITA de Bordeaux ont su dévoiler notre intérêt pour certains aspects créatifs. Or alors que je terminais la trilogie et un site amateur, Antoine et moi nous retrouvons après 4 ans au jour de l'an 2008. A la présentation de la Trilogie Gaïa et du site du Fyndel, Antoine s'est spontanément proposé de réaliser le site. Dès lors cette fenêtre sur Internet prend de l'ampleur en mon esprit, imaginant désormais photos et vidéos aux côtés des écrits. Le Fyndel peut devenir grâce à Antoine mon interface artistique, la lucarne de mes rêves, goutte dans un océan électronique. Pour ce labeur désintéressé, pour cette possibilité de partager si aisément jusqu'à l'autre bout du monde, merci Antoine.

Enfin mon cœur a une pensée pour ceux qui ont suivi la rédaction et dont le désir de lire la suite constituait un merveilleux encouragement. Emilie, Pascal, Benoit, merci pour la force puisée en votre espoir.


Retour en haut de page

Julien Jay
2004 - 2008
Nouvelle-Zélande - France